Autistic Life Hacks

While none of these are foolproof to combat executive dysfunction or fatigue, I wanted to create a guide for making life easier, in general, for autistic people. I will update this regularly as I hear about / discover new things.

Chores

Maid/cleaning service: while this may not be applicable to many, hiring a maid can greatly help when chores like dishes or sweeping become overwhelming. A friend suggested this to me, and told me she pays $10/hr. If you have a small living space, this likely won’t cost you too much as it won’t be an all day ordeal.

Dish Scrubber Sponge:

Image result for dish sponge

Dishes are still a hassle for me, but having one of these helps make it an easier and quicker task.

Dishwasher: this is a hefty purchase, but a portable dishwasher is something I’ve considered many times to make doing dishes less daunting.

Disposable dishes: not good for the environment, but if you really struggle, sometimes it’s best to get plastic cutlery and plates. Also there are eco friendly options!

Multiple Laundry Baskets: having 2 laundry baskets has helped me greatly with not having clothes laying on my floor. I often lack “spoons” to put away clothes after doing laundry, therefore having 1 basket for clean clothes and one to toss dirty clothes in reduces them being on the floor.

Keep a garbage can right next to your bed. This helps me combat the urge to just throw garbage on the floor. The more easily accessible your garbage can is, the more likely you are to use it because it’s less of an effort. On the same note, having a bigger garbage in my room helps me combat overflowing.

Swiffers, roombas, etc: Cleaning devices that keep me from bending over constantly help me fight fatigue.

Grocery shop at night: I much prefer grocery shopping at night at 24 hour places. It’s so much less stress and less crowd.

Buy in bulk: buying in bulk typically saves you money and less runs to get things. If you can, try to buy things you need in bulk.

Order essentials online: ordering non-perishable food, household supplies, etc, can be made a lot easier by ordering what you can online.

Cleaning up after pets

Cats: litter is hard for me to keep up with. I am looking into getting one of those grated litter boxes that you can filter the poop out of with. Also having open litter boxes helps me 1. Be motivated by the smell, and 2. Not be overwhelmed by the smell opening up a covered box. Cats also seem to like open boxes more.

Pocket pets: I have had a variety of small animals, and have found that for some (such as gerbils that live in a tank), just scooping out the dirty spots is a lot easier to manage, and then do full cleans as necessary. I also have pet rats, and am still trying to find ways to make cleaning easier, but I will say I have a Critter Nation cage. I use bath rugs on the bottom as it holds down easier, and scatter guards to prevent them knocking out litter. In plastic cages like ferret cages, either line or wipe down the shelves so they don’t become gross pee pools.

Hygiene / Personal Care

Floss picks: I am awful at flossing regularly, however, I have found it’s much easier with floss picks. I don’t have to experience drooling on my hand, really awkward reaches, or cutting off circulation.

Wipes and dry shampoo: if you lack the spoons to shower, find a good dry shampoo and some cleansing wipes to keep yourself as clean as possible.

Easy meals/snacks: groceries and cooking are both nightmare tasks sometimes. Keep some easy to make food, such as easy Mac or frozen dinners. Even getting Kind bars or other kinds of granola/nut bars helps me keep myself from starving, especially in the morning. Also try making and freezing multiple smoothies. Smoothies are so good for you, and a good way to hide things like spinach so you get your vitamins. But making smoothies is daunting. So make a bunch at once when you have the spoons to!

Drink mixes: Making pitches of crystal lite helps me increase my hydration. I’m super bad about drinking water.

Keep a water bottle at work or school, so you always have access.

Brushing teeth

They sell little ready brushes for brushing your teeth. If it’s the mint that bothers you, try bubblegum or citrus toothpaste.

Working Memory

Write things down. I try to always write things in my phone or as an alarm, but if I don’t have my phone on me I write important things on my hand, because I tend to lose/forget paper notes.

Keep things in the same place. I try to always keep my keys, bank card, etc IN my purse and make a point to put them back even if I’m lacking spoons.

Make backups: I keep a spare key in my purse because I’ve gotten distracted and locked myself out of my car absentmindedly so many times. I almost never forget my purse so having a backup key has saved me a lot of grief. Have backup plans for other situations. A second pair of glasses for emergencies, a spare house key with my parents.

Set alarms, immediately. As soon as you think (I need to do this later), set an alarm. Alarms have been so helpful for things like turning off the oven, remembering to take pills, remembering to pay bills, etc.

Set your bills to autopay. If you have bills to keep track of, I highly suggest using the autopay function on most websites, as well as setting up alerts. Even with autopay, it’s helpful to have text/email alerts to remind you so you can check your bank account/be aware of payments happening.

Finances

In relation to paying bills, set up your bank account to give you notifications and set overdraft preferences. I have mine set to text me if my balance is under $50, and to automatically pull funds from my savings instead of overdrafting me. This has saved me so much financial woe.

Sleep

Earplugs have made a MASSIVE difference in my ability to sleep. I get them in bulk here and like this brand as it does not hurt my ears and blocks out sound very well. The 200 pair box has lasted me almost 3 years, so it’s a worthwhile purchase, but you can also purchase smaller amounts for less.

White noise: background noises like fans can help calm you and also block out other sounds. There are also white noise machines and free white noise apps. For a while I had a pair of Sleep Phones which were nice because they didn’t disturb others with white noises and can plug into anything. They also make bluetooth sleep phones, but the price is pretty high.

Light blocking curtains: when it’s summer and it starts getting light out at 6am, I’m always woken up by the light. Light blocking curtains are nice to combat this, though I haven’t actually bought any myself.

Sleep masks: an alternative way to block out light, but may be a sensory problem for some to feel it on your face.

Shake out your sheet. When you’re not up to changing your sheets but you feel crumbs, lint, etc, take one corner and shake out the sheet.

Social/Work/School

Write scripts: when applicable, write scripts. If you are in a place where you can’t access a script (I.e.) job interview, try to write down and rehearse beforehand. I’ll probably make a separate blog about interviews.

Be honest: This is situational and depending on the comfort level of individuals, but this year I formulated a letter to my manager and supervisors explaining that I am autistic and how it affects me. I explained sensory overload and anxiety/panic attacks. Everyone was really supportive and it was nice. I’ve also been open with professors, which takes a great deal of energy because of how much guilt I feel, but I have also had overwhelmingly positive support, extensions, etc.

Know your rights: it is your right as a disabled person to request reasonable accommodations. Many colleges have a student disabilities office that will work with you.

Headphones: when applicable, I use headphones to drown out noise (on buses, while studying, etc). For studying I listen to instrumental music because lyrics are distracting to me.

Earplugs: again, earplugs are so useful when you’re stuck in a loud environment, trying to study, etc.

SPD

Earplugs/headphones: as mentioned above

Tinted glasses: I wear glasses that filter out blue light as I’m prone to migraines. You can buy them pretty cheap here.

Light reduction/night filter: most smartphones now have accessibility features, and reducing blue light to help sleep is one of them.

Incense: when a smell is really bothering me I try to cover it up with incense. This may not be ideal for all autistic people since incense is strong.

Lavender lotion/oil: if you’re in public experiencing an unpleasant smell, try carrying some scented lotion with you. Lavender is nice because of its calming effects.

Static: we all hate static, but it can be super distressing to get shocked. There are products online to diffuse electricity. Also try using a humidifier at home.

Cold: disposable hand and foot warmers. Really thick coats. Keeping spare sweaters around for unexpected fluctuation. Space heaters!! Ski masks.

Hot: loose fitting, light colored clothes. Little water fans. Stay hydrated!! Sun hats.

General

Prioritize tasks. Don’t just do the first task that comes to mind, but try to get the most important tasks done first so you don’t lose spoons.

Map out steps and think of how long each will take. Also prepare for delays. Try to leave a little early, even if you’re positive a commute takes 15 minutes. You never know when traffic will be backed up or other delays.

Helpful apps

Habitica: has a tab for dailies, to do, and habits, set up as an rpg. Helps you keep track of things like “did I take my medicine today?”

ToDoist

OneNote

WorkFlowy

TimeTune

 

These are just a few suggestions to make life easier, and many may not be applicable to all. I hope this has been helpful, and appreciate any ideas to add to the list.

Also, even if these do not help you, please don’t feel like a failure. Living as an autistic person in a neurotypical world is incredibly taxing. It’s not your fault if you can’t keep up.

Published by

The Autistic Alien

My name is CJ. As of April 2021, I am 29 and use she/her pronouns. I consider myself to be an activist and care deeply about the intersectional rights of human beings. I've created this blog because I felt that there is still much stigma and misinformation about autism, and a lack of resources for autistic adults. I was diagnosed with Asperger's (now simply part of Autism Spectrum Disorder in the DSM-V) at age 14 and have come a long way since then to understand myself and others. Other than blogging, I enjoy reading, adventuring, and being around animals.

2 thoughts on “Autistic Life Hacks”

  1. Thanks! this was really helpful and I never thought of putting earplugs to use but that could really be a lifesaver! I’m going to try it asap!

    Like

Leave a comment